Dan Bosket Elected New ASD President, Three New Members Join Board

Dan Bosket Elected New ASDF President, Three New Members Join Board
Posted on 07/11/2019
Effective July 1, Daniel C. Bosket will serve as the sixth president of the Allentown School District Foundation (ASDF) as it continues its mission to foster supplemental learning experiences for Allentown School District (ASD) students. In addition, the ASDF Board of Directors elected three new board members: Donald E. Hinkle, Kay Kurtz, and Angela Nolan. “The Foundation Board of Directors plays a significant role in the development of this non-profit,” says Susan L. Williams, ASDF Executive Director. "The incoming board members come with varied work experiences and a passion for expanding opportunities for Allentown teachers and students."

Daniel C. Bosket, DHS '71 – ASDF Board President
With President Kurt Zwikl's term ending on June 30, Bosket was elected president at the June 6 ASDF Board Retreat. With a long history of working in the community, Bosket serves as the Director of the Community Action Development Corporation of Allentown. In this role, he works with moderate- and low-income Allentown residents to improve their neighborhoods, open new businesses, and advocate for quality of life improvements. He is Chief Financial Officer of Union Baptist Church, Allentown, where he has been a member for over 30 years. His community work includes roles as treasurer of the Neighborhood Health Centers of the Lehigh Valley and as treasurer of the Lehigh Conference of Churches. Bosket serves on the boards of the Allentown Chamber of Commerce, the African-American Business Leaders Council, the MLK Freedom Fund Memorial, Promise Neighborhoods of the Lehigh Valley, and the ASD Foundation. He is an active member of the Allentown NAACP, and he served as its president for 15 years. Additionally, he runs several small businesses. Bosket earned his bachelor’s degree from Muhlenberg College in Allentown and his Master’s in Business from St. Joseph’s University in Philadelphia. He attended the Harvard Business School for Management Training. His work with the Foundation and in Allentown reflects his commitment to investing in and developing a strong Allentown community for student success. The term for ASDF president is one year.

Donald E. Hinkle, DHS '76 – ASDF Board Member 
A 1976 graduate of Dieruff High School, Don Hinkle is an owner and vice president of Builders’ Door & Hardware, Inc., in Allentown. He has worked in the business for over 33 years. Hinkle previously worked for the Fuller Company as a senior designer. He has volunteered as a golf tournament committee member and annual fundraiser for the Big Brothers Big Sisters of the Lehigh Valley. The parent of Dieruff High School Theater Director Sarah Pastelyak, Hinkle serves as an assistant producer for the high school’s spring musicals.  Hinkle brings commitment to the ASD and high-level management experience to the Foundation.

Kay Kurtz, DHS '74 – ASDF Board Member 
Kay Kurtz is Business Development and Community Relations Manager for People First Federal Credit Union in Allentown, where she has worked for 42 years and has played an important role in the success of the credit union. As the vice president of the Louis E. Dieruff Alumni Association, she serves as the webmaster and editor for all Dieruff alumni communications. Kay earned her AAS degree in business administration from Lehigh Carbon Community College, and she is a 1974 graduate of Dieruff High School. Her work and previous involvement with the Foundation have always reflected her Husky Pride. In 2019, Kurtz served as an Honorary Co-Chair of the High Notes Gala.

Angela Nolan – ASDF Board Member 
Angela Nolan is the Chief Operating Officer of Vistacom, Inc., located in Allentown. She actively engages with the community as a volunteer with PSNI, AVIXA Women’s Council, Women’s 5K Breast Cancer Awareness Run, American Red Cross of Eastern Pennsylvania, United Way of the Greater Lehigh Valley, and Lehigh Valley Health Network Presidents Society. Additionally, Angela serves as secretary/treasurer for the PSNI Global Alliance Board of Directors. She brings technical skills from working with communications technology and entrepreneurial, leadership, and money management experience to the Foundation, where she will be able to contribute to efforts to support programs that improve the education of young people in Allentown. Angela recently arranged a MacBook donation and a tour of Vistacom facilities for Raub Middle School students. 

Six members of the ASD Foundation's 22-person board stepped down due to other obligations and/or retired as their terms expired. “We are grateful for their service and for all that they have done for the Foundation and Allentown School District,” says Williams.

Those individuals are: Laurie G. Hackett, Chrissy Hixson (WAHS '83), John G. Hughes (DHS '61), Marci J. Martinez-Howey, Michele K. Pessina (WAHS '74), and Kurt D. Zwikl (WAHS'67).
"The ASD Foundation appreciates the contributions of these members over the course of their involvement with the ASDF, and it looks forward to their continuing support on future activities."

About the Allentown School District Foundation
Pursuing a vision of developing enriched education for Allentown School District students, the ASD Foundation has a mission to encourage, promote, and support innovative educational experiences for students in the Allentown School District. Since its founding in 2009, the Foundation has raised over $3.1 million for supplemental programming in ASD schools. If you would like to learn more, please contact the foundation at 484-765-4093 or [email protected]. The mailing address is P.O. Box 328, 31 South Penn Street, Allentown, PA 18105, and the website is www.allentownsd.org/asdf.